Start Setting Your Calendars For 2014 WRTC Qualifying; Most Events Will Be In 2011 and 2012

Organizers of the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship have laid out the qualifying schedule for that competition, which will include a series of contests beginning in October with CQ WW SSB and ending in March of 2013 with the ARRL SSB Contest.

The qualifying details are now available on the web site of the WRTC 2014 committee.

The format is much like that used by Russian organizers for the 2010 competition, but differs in a number of specific ways, as certain contests were added, and qualifying regions were reconfigured.

Unlike the 2010 WRTC, single band entries in major contests can earn you points, after they are compared against All Band scores from the same power level. Also, QRP scores will be eligible for WRTC points.

The qualifying schedule starts in just a few weeks, with the CQ WW SSB test. While operators around the world will compete for WRTC points in that and the 2010 CQ WW CW test, contesters in the US and Canada also have this year’s November Sweepstakes CW and SSB tests.

The new plans include some changes on how many teams can qualify from certain continents. For example, while there will be two divisions in Oceania, only one team leader slot will be available for WRTC 2014.

The United States and Canada will now have 15 team leader positions, up from 11 for WRTC 2010. Along with that, the qualifying geography will change dramatically as well.

Instead of combining call areas into one qualifying division, the 2014 WRTC will offer one team leader slot to W1, W2 and W3.

W4 will be broken into two divisions, with hams in North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia competing for one team leader spot, while the NA #4 West division will include Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky and Tennessee.

Instead of a combined W5 and W0 as in 2010, those two call areas will each get one team, as will W8 and W9.

Out West, two teams will be picked from NA #6, which will cover California, Arizona, Nevada and Utah.

The new NA #7 division has Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington and Wyoming.

The European qualifying divisions will also be changed, but less dramatically when compared to the United States.

One switch gives EU #1 one extra slot, for a total of five team leader positions. That division includes Spain, Portugal, the United Kingdom, France, Belgium and the Netherlands.

Italy has now been moved into EU #2 with Germany and Switzerland. That group will also get five teams.

EU #3 will again cover the Baltics, but it will get only three teams.

The big change comes in EU #4, which will now cover Hungary, Austria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia and Poland.

The new EU #5 covers the area that was known as EU #4 in WRTC 2010. European Russia will get three teams for the 2014 WRTC in EU #6.

As for the all-important category order, which determines how scores are tabulated, this is the formula from the WRTC 2014 organizers:

MM – M2 – MS – SOA – SO HP – SO Single Mode - SO LP – Single Mode LP – SO QRP

Stick with radio-sport.net for the latest on the 2014 WRTC. We documented the road to Moscow, and now radio-sport.net will follow the road to New England!

Filed in: WRTC

Share This Post

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

© 9263 Radio-Sport.net. All rights reserved.
Founded by Jamie, NS3T. In 2013, the Radio-Sport.net tradition continues. Estufs Developed by WebArt MediaLabs